Hip Hip Hooray! A Giveaway!

Hello to all of my new fans who have hopped over from Kelly Rae Roberts’ blog!  Thank you so much for stopping by!  Before I get to the giveaway part, I thought I would do a little post about myself for those of you who don’t know my story.

I used to be a waitress.  I knew it wasn’t going to be my forever job, but I was never quite sure what I really wanted to do.  In 2010, after reading a book called “5” by Dan Zadra, my mom and I decided to open up a little gift shop in Douglas, Michigan.  We opened on April 1st of 2011 in what used to be the Douglas Gas and Oil building at the end of Center Street. It Is What It Is is full of gifts and goodies, many of which are locally handmade.

Image

I began making little decorative signs for the shop, and they were a big hit!  These are some of my very early signs from 2011-2012. The big sign on the front of our building was the very first sign I ever made!ImageIn January 2013, while attending the Chicago gift show, our friend Sue (who sold us products for the shop) offered to rep my signs for me.  I couldn’t sleep that night, I had so many ideas!  I set up an appointment with our lawyer the next week, and Polka Dot Mitten was born.  We had a hard time coming up with a name for the company, because soooo many of the names we liked were already registered as a business.  The “mitten” comes from Michigan — many of my signs have a Michigan theme!  So many people are smitten with the mitten!  Polka dot… my husband came up with that part.  I was using lots of polka dots in my designs at the time, so it just sounded cute and it stuck.

Image

Little did I know that what I thought was “busy” prior to this year… was nothing compared to my current definition of “busy.”  By the end of the summer, I had another rep for the East side of Michigan… and between the two of them, I was crazy-busy!  And I still am!  My house is a constant disaster, and I absolutely can NOT believe it is December 10th already.  Pardon our mess… we work here.

ImageBut despite our never-ending messy kitchen and the fact that it really is December 10th already, this year has been one of the most wonderful years of my life.  I have learned more than I thought was possible.  I have created more than I thought was possible.  And I have have grown more than I thought was possible!

This year I have relied on Kelly Rae Roberts’ e-book to help guide me in growing my business.  In October, I took Lilla Rogers’ e-course, “Make Art That Sells” to learn new ways to make my work better.  I’ll be taking part B in the spring! My ultimate goal is to have my artwork licensed by companies so I can grow beyond what I am able to make at my kitchen counter!Image

And now for the giveaway part!  It’s time to celebrate such a crazy year!  I’m so excited to announce that I’m a part of Kelly Rae Roberts’ incredible line up of sponsors for her highly anticipated Hip Hip Hooray Holiday Giveaway Party. The party has started and YOU are invited! Hop on over to her blog today and enter to win a ton of amazing party favors from her generous sponsors.  I’m giving away five of my newest signs, and there are lots of other giveaways being offered as well. Image

About polkadotmitten

I'm Katie, the creator behind Polka Dot Mitten handmade signs. I live in Saugatuck, Michigan with my husband and our two young children. My mom and I own a shop in Douglas, MI called It Is What It Is, which is full of locally handmade treasures. Whimsical, creative things are my passion!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hip Hip Hooray! A Giveaway!

  1. CJ says:

    How lovely to read your inspiring success story.

Leave a Reply

