Packed full of information… and an upcoming giveaway!

First of all, just a heads up… this is a really long post for me (sorry).  I don’t have time to blog on most days.  Today happens to be the only day of the year that has 25 hours (daylight savings). So I am taking that extra hour and writing a jam-packed post.  I really wanted to sum up everything that’s going on right now because there is a lot of exciting stuff to tell about!! 

I have never, ever, {ever!} been so busy in November actually, make that “in my entire” life!  This is the typical scene at our house every night after the kids go to bed:

boxes

 

I like to take pictures here and there because sometimes, I can’t really believe how many signs we are making!  What a drastic difference a year makes.  Life is totally different right now from how it was a year ago.   And when I take pictures, my dog, Toto,  is always photobombing.  Or would you call that “totobombing?” 

Image  Image

 

My goal when I started this business was to outgrow my kitchen counter.  That has happened.  We’re about to outgrow the counter and table and living room floor combined.  Some nights, we eat dinner all shoved to one end of the table while the signs hog the rest of it.  

It’s really overwhelming, and I feel like I am going completely insane, and I’m really scatterbrained a lot of the time because I am always working.  But most of all, it’s really exciting and rewarding!  And I am so thankful for that!

In the past, November has always been a slow month for me. That is still true for our little seasonal tourist town, the Village of Douglas.  The tourists are pretty much gone for a while.  But we do have some really exciting events coming up in anticipation of the holiday season.  Here’s the rundown of my schedule – for both my shop and my sign business:

November 9th I will be signing signs at Shooting Star Antiques and Gifts in South Haven, MI from 6-9 pm.

November 15-17, a group of ladies from Battle Creek will be visiting Saugatuck and Douglas, and we will have some in-store specials at It Is What It Is!

November 20th I will be signing signs at Great Northern Trading Co in Rockford, MI.  

November 23rd is the Holiday Preview in Downtown Douglas!  All the shops will be open late, we will be decked out for the holidays, there will be lanterns lining the streets… don’t forget to come all the way down to our end of Center Street!  We are the last shop, kind of isolated from everybody else, and sometimes when it gets dark (and it gets dark at like, 5:30pm), nobody ventures all the way down to our end of Center Street (like during Art and Jazz this past Saturday… not one person came down to see us!)  So if you could help spread the word that we are open and participating in this event, we would really appreciate it!

November 29th I will be at Teerman’s of Holland, Michigan to autograph signs.

I will post December events as we get closer to December.  

The thing I am most excited about is that I will be participating in a giveaway on Kelly Rae Roberts’ blog on December 10th!  I have been looking forward to it for months!!!  I have been trying to create something extra special for it, and I have been learning A TON from the Lilla Rogers art class that I have been taking (that class also adds to the insane-ness of my schedule.  Probably wasn’t the smartest idea for me to take on an intense college-like class right in the middle of this madness, but I did it anyway and I don’t regret it one bit!)

Until next time…

About polkadotmitten

I'm Katie, the creator behind Polka Dot Mitten handmade signs. I live in Saugatuck, Michigan with my husband and our two young children. My mom and I own a shop in Douglas, MI called It Is What It Is, which is full of locally handmade treasures. Whimsical, creative things are my passion!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

