Top Seven Sunday!

I’ve been trying to keep up with the blog.  But I’ve been having a hard time with that.  Ideally, I would post 5 times a week!  Instead, here are the top seven highlights of my week.

1. I’m going to be signing signs and doing 3 “trunk shows” in November.  At Teerman’s in Holland, at Shooting Star in South Haven, and at Great Northern Trading in Rockford.  I’ll post dates and more info later.

 

2.  We have been staying up until about 1 a.m.  every night/morning/whatever you want to call it.  It’s tough to work 2 jobs.  (ok 4 jobs between the two of us.  mike has a normal engineer job monday-friday and i work 7 days a week at the store most weeks, and we both make the signs every night!)  But it’s sooooooo exciting that we have to work so late every night.  My goal was to outgrow my kitchen counter.  And that is happening quickly.  I feel like I’m going insane mostly, but I asked for some help this week. Finally.  I took a picture of my kitchen counter, but I’m too embarrassed to post it.  Between the kids’ school papers, signs, regular mail, iiwii mail, polka dot mail, dirty dishes…. yeah.  You can make a mental picture.  But it makes my top 7 because I’m loving it.

3.  We took a break on Friday night!  We took the kids to the Saugatuck/Fennville football game!  We met our good friends there, and they came over to our house afterwards.  It was good to hang out and catch up with them.  They didn’t care about the messy kitchen.

4. I lost 3 lbs. on weight watchers!

5. I earned 13 activity points walking around Beery Field for an hour with a fellow mom during my son’s flag football practices on tuesday and thursday.

6. We got pumpkins tonight.  We’ll have to make time to figure out Halloween costumes for the kids soon.

7. And I like to save the best for last.  Art school!!! I loved my first week of Make Art That Sells!  I designed bolt fabric!  We had to do a “berries and casseroles” vintage theme.  My great grandma, Mama Josie, used to make strawberry pie and chocolate pie and corned beef casserole.  She also had a dish with strawberries on it.  My grammy had pyrex dishes with the crazy daisy pattern on them.  We lived in Mama Josie’s house when we were first married until our kids were toddlers… Above her kitchen window was a little scalloped detail.  (I love putting scallops in a lot of my artwork, if you haven’t noticed!)  Also, my Great Grandma Leach made me a beautiful quilt for my wedding, with all kinds of vintage fabrics.  So I was kind of excited when we got our first assignment.  I have ordered some of this fabric from Spoonflower, and I’m going to have it made into an apron or pot holders or tea towels or something.  I’ll post pictures when it’s done!

Image

About polkadotmitten

I'm Katie, the creator behind Polka Dot Mitten handmade signs. I live in Saugatuck, Michigan with my husband and our two young children. My mom and I own a shop in Douglas, MI called It Is What It Is, which is full of locally handmade treasures. Whimsical, creative things are my passion!
This entry was posted in Handmade, Just for Fun, Kids, Made In Michigan, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Top Seven Sunday!

  1. Wow your signs are amazing! The wall art week of the course should suit you really well! Can’t wait to see what you come up with. I loved your fabric and I can’t believe how much you are juggling while doing the course. Thanks for sharing your link. I love getting a sneak peak into the lives of fellow artists.

  2. Pingback: Besides making signs… | Polka Dot Mitten

  3. Elizabeth Stannard-Letcher says:

    Hi Katie…..just wanted you to know that reading your blog is fun….you’re a good writer. And, I just LOVE your store. I’m the lady, who was in your store on Saturday, and bought the three Pendant Lights! just to let you know……I LOVE them!!!! They look great!! I will send you a picture of them after they are installed properly in my Kitchen…..
    Keep up the great Blogging!
    See you soon.
    Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

