Apple Cake and Boiled Apple Peels

Image

Apple cake is one of the first things I learned to bake.  It was also one of the first things my mom learned to bake.  Her neighbor, Mrs. Troutman, gave her the recipe when she was little.  And my mom taught me how to make it when I was little.  I remember making it for my neighbors, Mr. and Mrs. Nieusma, when I was probably about 8 years old.

You will need: 4 apples, 1 3/4 cup sugar, 1 cup oil, 2 eggs, 1 tsp vanilla extract, 1 tsp. baking soda, 1/2 tsp. salt, 2 tsp. cinnamon and 2 cups flour.  Here’s what you do:

First, preheat your oven to 350.  Grease and flour a bundt pan.  I usually use a bundt pan, but sometimes I use a cake pan.  Either one works.

Peel and slice the apples.  (My mom gave me her apple/peeler/corer/slicer from Pampered Chef that she’s had since I was in elementary school.  It works like a charm and saves a lot of time.)

Don’t throw the cores or peels away!  Put them in a big pot and cover with water.  Sprinkle in some cinnamon, bring to a boil, and let it simmer on your stove!  Makes your house smell AMAZING.  This has nothing to do with the recipe, it’s just what I always do when I make apple cake.  And I do it even when I’m not making apple cake. (another trick from my mom)

boiling apples

Beat the eggs, oil, sugar and vanilla until combined.  Add the apples and stir. sugar In a separate bowl, combine flour, sugar, soda and salt.  Then add that to the apples mixture and stir. Pour into greased pan and bake for 1 hour.

batterThat’s all there is to it!  We served this at our scarf party/ fall open house at It Is What It Is, and it was a hit!apple cake

About polkadotmitten

I'm Katie, the creator behind Polka Dot Mitten handmade signs. I live in Saugatuck, Michigan with my husband and our two young children. My mom and I own a shop in Douglas, MI called It Is What It Is, which is full of locally handmade treasures. Whimsical, creative things are my passion!
This entry was posted in Handmade, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Apple Cake and Boiled Apple Peels

  1. Debra says:

    Oh that looks devine! And what a great idea with the apple skin/cinnamon room fragrance.

Leave a Reply

