There’s No Place Like Home

Image

This sign deserves its own blog post. 

I made this sign specifically for a Facebook giveaway with Got It Made In Michigan back in January.  It seems like forever ago!  I loved The Wizard of Oz when I was a little kid, but Kansas is not my home.  Michigan is!  The original sign was made from reclaimed wood that my husband nailed together for me.  That one was given away, but we now have art prints of that original for sale at It Is What It Is and many other shops around Michigan (check out the “where to buy” tab to find a shop near you, or order one online from shopwhatitis.com).

It was during that online giveaway that the idea for Polka Dot Mitten was born. I was in Chicago with my mom and my brother and my husband for the gift show at Merchandise Mart.  We were staying at our favorite hotel, the Amalfi (because they have a complimentary cocktail hour, of course!)  We met with our friend Sue (who also happened to rep some of the merchandise we carry at It Is What It Is), and she suggested that she represent my little handmade signs.  I hadn’t thought a whole lot about it before that… but that night I COULD NOT SLEEP.  I kept coming up with so many ideas for a wholesale sign company, that I literally did not sleep that night.  It was worse than being a kid on Christmas Eve.  When I got home from Chicago, I immediately began the process of setting up a second company.  The hardest part was coming up with a name! (We brainstormed for several days in a row after meeting with our lawyer and finding out that many of the names we had in mind were already taken) It was actually my husband Mike who came up with Polka Dot Mitten… many of my designs had polka dots on them, and of course Michigan is the shape of a mitten… so we just put them together!

Anyway, that’s the story of that sign and how Polka Dot Mitten was born.  My ultimate goal is to expand beyond Michigan…

 Image

… and I am extremely excited to announce that I will be participating in a giveaway on

Kelly Rae Roberts‘ blog on December 10th!!!  In my world, that’s a great big deal. 😀

 

I am really beyond thankful for my work and I’m over the moon in love with what my job is bringing me right now.  

 

About polkadotmitten

I'm Katie, the creator behind Polka Dot Mitten handmade signs. I live in Saugatuck, Michigan with my husband and our two young children. My mom and I own a shop in Douglas, MI called It Is What It Is, which is full of locally handmade treasures. Whimsical, creative things are my passion!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to There’s No Place Like Home

  1. Sue Ross says:

    It has been such a pleasure to help with and watch your business take off. Who knew it would be such a hit in a short period of time. That might have been one of my best ideas I’ve ever had while consuming alcohol. Thanks for the oppurtunity,Katie.
    Sue

  2. Kristen says:

    This is the sign I originally spotted in one of the stores in South Haven, I went back to purchase the next day and it was gone!!! I’m so glad you posted this blog, because for the life of me I couldn’t remember what it said. I will be definitely ordering this one! I love your designs!

Leave a Reply

