Life Lately

These aren’t the greatest pictures because they were all taken with my phone.  I was trying to upload them to word press so I could edit them, and it decided to go ahead and publish the whole post for me instead!

Then number one question customers of it is what it is have every summer is not “how do you get to the beach.” Actually, it’s “what are those little red ball things that look like cherry tomatoes growing outside by the fence?”

They are rose hips!  I have no idea why they are so big (I didn’t know they were big- I didn’t even know what rose hips were until 2 years ago when we opened up the shop). But everyone says they are unusually big.  If you know anything about rose hips, please share your info with me so I can pass it along to my curious customers.  Here they are:

image

We ignored our garden at home over the weekend.  If you would like some cucumbers, let me know!  This bowl full of giant cucumbers does not even come close to showing how many are actually still out in the garden.  Anybody have a good pickle recipe?

image

On Monday, August 5, 2013, it was 59 degrees in our house.  I had to document it.  We haven’t had the air conditioning on for about 3 weeks!

image

The other night, we chopped up some jalapenos and red onions from the garden and enjoyed them with tortilla chips and salsa.  It was so good!

image

And last night, we got our first Christmas card order of the season!  It’s going to South Haven!

image

About polkadotmitten

I'm Katie, the creator behind Polka Dot Mitten handmade signs. I live in Saugatuck, Michigan with my husband and our two young children. My mom and I own a shop in Douglas, MI called It Is What It Is, which is full of locally handmade treasures. Whimsical, creative things are my passion!
This entry was posted in Just for Fun, Let's Grow Our Own Food, Made In Michigan and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

