Morning Coffee

Every morning, after the kids leave for school, and before I have to get ready for work, I sit on the couch and have a cup of coffee.  I watch Fox 17 morning news, check Facebook, sort out my work emails for custom signs, and browse Pinterest.  This morning when I logged on to Pinterest and started scrolling, I found two of my signs pinned by Catching Fireflies!  (last week, I finished up and shipped out a custom order for their Berkley, Ann Arbor and Rochester shops!)

The first summer It Is What It Is was open (2011), we took a little family trip up to Mackinac Island.  I did a lot of shopping.  There were so many great little shops!  The one that stuck out most in my mind was Little Luxuries of Mackinac Island.  She had so many Michigan-made items, and her shop was so unique!  I bought a little handmade magnet by A.I. Paper Design from Little Luxuries.  When I got home, I looked up A.I. Paper Design, and found out that the creator has retail shops in Michigan called Catching Fireflies!  I have not been to Catching Fireflies in person (yet), but their website and blog is fantastic.  She gives marketing and display tips, great gift ideas, recipes, and so much more!

Anyway, when I started up my little wholesale business at the end of January of this year, the first shops I thought of were, of course, Little Luxuries and Catching Fireflies. (because they have always been an inspiration to me for my own shop.)  I was so nervous to email them and tell them about my signs.  I don’t know why… It’s just the way I am.  This was before my rep had even begun to work her magic.  I had no experience with wholesale. Almost no experience with shipping and packaging. There was almost nothing in my “catalog.”  I had never had anyone order wholesale from me before.  But I went ahead and took a leap of faith anyway.  And I am so glad I did!

Check out this list of places where you can pick up a Polka Dot Mitten sign!

One of my favorite quotes lately has been “It’s never too late to be what you might have been”  by George Eliot.  I like it so much that I have written it on the chalkboard by the desk at the shop, and I even made my own art version of it!  It will be coming soon to It Is What It Is and the wholesale catalog.

just be

About polkadotmitten

I'm Katie, the creator behind Polka Dot Mitten handmade signs. I live in Saugatuck, Michigan with my husband and our two young children. My mom and I own a shop in Douglas, MI called It Is What It Is, which is full of locally handmade treasures. Whimsical, creative things are my passion!
This entry was posted in Handmade, Just for Fun, Made In Michigan and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Morning Coffee

  1. susan ross says:

    Here’s my favorite one for a sign “What would you do if you knew you couldn’t fail”

    Date: Wed, 22 May 2013 19:07:58 +0000 To: sueross18@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

