It’s like having a new baby.

NO. I am NOT having a new baby. Just to clarify. Two children is enough!!

But sometimes I feel like this new adventure is kind of like having a new baby.  For a lot of reasons:

1. It keeps me up at night.  If I wake up in the middle of the night, I start thinking about a new idea or something on my to-do list, and then I can’t get back to sleep.  Some of my ideas are born in the middle of the night!

2. I don’t know what I’m doing.  Just like with a new baby, there is no instruction manual.  It’s all trial and error and learning and growing.  You make mistakes and learn from them, and get better next time. I did not go to college to learn how to run a business.  But I think actually doing it is a better education than anything else could ever teach me.

3. It makes me exhausted.  Just when I think I can’t possibly squeeze one more thing in my schedule, I have ten more things to squeeze in. Somehow, it all works out.

4. Emotions… I can go from elated and blissful to overwhelmed and crazy in a matter of about 2 minutes.  Mike has been so, SO awesome to help me remember that all the ups and downs of running a business (two businesses!) are just part of the job. He is really the best husband in the world.

5. Just when I think I have it all figured out, and have a system, something changes and I realize I don’t really have it figured out.  Like with babies: you get them on a good schedule, then they start teething. and crawling. and walking. and talking. and talking back to you… But you still love them more and more every day.

6. Someday, 5 years from now, I will probably go back and re-read these blog entries, and remember what an exciting, special time in my life this is.  (I will probably also cringe at how silly I sound. I always feel really dorky when I’m writing.)

 

In other news… I think all blog posts should include a picture, so check out our new front wall display at It Is What It Is featuring Kelly Rae Roberts artwork! And my dad makes the driftwood sailboats like the one in the top left corner!

Image

About polkadotmitten

I'm Katie, the creator behind Polka Dot Mitten handmade signs. I live in Saugatuck, Michigan with my husband and our two young children. My mom and I own a shop in Douglas, MI called It Is What It Is, which is full of locally handmade treasures. Whimsical, creative things are my passion!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

